Mityana Anglican Diocese was inaugurated on 22nd May 1977 by The Most Rev. Silvanus Wani Curving from West Buganda Diocese. Mityana Diocese was inaugurated by the Province of the Anglican Church of Uganda to mark Centenary of the Anglican Church of Uganda. This makes it a unique Diocese because it was birthed in 1977 during the celebrations of the Centenary of Church of Uganda, owing to the fact that the missionaries from Church Missionary Society arrived in Uganda in 1877 with the Good News of Jesus Christ. In this same year 1977 Archbishop Janan Luwum was murdered!!!!!!

It began with two Archdeaconries and 20 parishes, however today it has 9 Archdeaconries, 1 Deanery and over 68 Parishes plus 20 Mission Parishes with over 515 congregations ministered by Catechists and Lay Readers. The Diocese is hence growing spiritually. The recent population census conducted in 2014 indicated that Mityana Diocese has 648,800 Anglicans of which 112 are active clergy plus 16 who are retired and 62% are youth.

This rural Diocese lies in two Buganda Counties namely; Ssingo and Buwekula. These counties make five political districts; Mityana, Kiboga, Kyankwanzi, Kassanda and Mubende.

Mission Statement:

Since I have known Christ, I want Him to be known by words and example in the power of the Holy Spirit

Vision Statement:

”Come, Let Us Re Build.” Neh.2:17

New Letter Sign Up

Facebook Feed

Contact Us